Around Town Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event

Talks Events
 
Sort by: Event Venue Date
    
Talks & Readings: Conference
Crops & Chemicals USA
Gain the Science, Technologies and Contacts You Need to Optimize Development in Plant Protection and Plant Growth Products. Date and Time: On Monday July 24, 2017 at 7:00 am (ends Wednesday July 26, 2017 at 6:00 pm)
Raleigh Convention Center
Raleigh, NC

Tue 7/25/17 - Wed 7/26/17 at 7am-6pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Be Connected: Legal Sips w. Mavis Gragg
This month’s topic will focus on environmental law.
Beyu Caffe
Durham, NC

Tue 7/25/17 at 7pm-8:30pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books)
Children’s Storytime: On the Farm!
Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is On The Farm! Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030. About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buye...
McIntyre's Books
Pittsboro, NC

Tue 7/25/17 at 10:30am-11am
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Odie Lindsey discusses his debut story collection We Come to Our Senses
For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, Odie Lindsey's searing debut collection explores the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affecte...
Flyleaf Books
Chapel Hill, NC

Tue 7/25/17 at 7pm-8pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books), Signing/Readings
NC author Alan Gratz - 'Refugee'
Imagine leaving all you know with hardly a possession and risking your life in the hope of just surviving. Now imagine it happening to a child. Across decades and continents, these interconnecting stories of three different children are sadly timely. For...
Quail Ridge Books & Music
Raleigh, NC

Wed 7/26/17 at 7pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Summer Book Club - "Amazing Grace: A Vocabulary of Faith"
Discussion of "Amazing Grace: A Vocabulary of Faith" - Struggling with her return to the Christian church after many years away, Kathleen Norris found it was the language of Christianity that most distanced her from faith. Words like judgment, faith, dogma...
White Plains United Methodist Church
Cary, NC

Wed 7/26/17 at 7pm-9pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Ace Atkins – The Fallen
A classic southern tale of backroom deals, tainted honor, dysfunctional family, high-stakes greed and everyday heroism, from the New York Times best-selling author. Mississippi sheriff Quinn Colson had to admit he admired the bank robbers. A new bank was ...
McIntyre's Books
Pittsboro, NC

Thu 7/27/17 at 6pm-7pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Alan Gratz – Refugee
Alan Gratz’s new middle grade novel Refugee follows three different kids with one common mission: escape. Josef is a Jewish boy in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side ...
McIntyre's Books
Pittsboro, NC

Thu 7/27/17 at 4pm-5pm
Talks & Readings: Poetry Reading/Spoken Word
Stories Happen in Forests: A Live Storytelling Event
Join Dogwood Alliance at Motorco on July 27th, for an evening of storytelling and community-building in the spirit of forest protection and community justice. The night will feature 10 LIVE true, personal stories. Our standing forests are awe-inspiring,...
Motorco Music Hall
Durham, NC

Thu 7/27/17 at 6pm-9pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Ace Atkins - 'The Fallen: A Quinn Colson Novel'
When he's not busy continuing (thankfully) Robert Parker's beloved Spenser series, Ace Atkins is quite busy with his own Quinn Colson novels. One of the top crime writing novelists, he's been nominated for every major award in the genre, including the Edg...
Quail Ridge Books & Music
Raleigh, NC

Fri 7/28/17 at 7pm
Talks & Readings: Nature, Family/Child (Books)
Garden Storytime
Join us for a morning of outdoor garden fun. We will explore the gardens together to find the perfect spot to spread our picnic blankets for garden stories and crafts.
JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University
Raleigh, NC

Fri 7/28/17 at 10am-11am
Fri 8/18/17 at 10am-11am
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books), Signing/Readings
Meet Camille Andros
Join us for a special story time with local author Camille Andros. She will be reading Charlotte the Scientist is Squished. Charlotte is a serious scientist. She solves important problems by following the scientific method. She has all the right equipment....
Barnes & Noble at Southpoint
Durham, NC

Fri 7/28/17 at 10:30am-11am
Talks & Readings: Children
Preschool Storytime
Join us every Friday at 10:30 for a story followed by a coloring activity.
Barnes & Noble at Southpoint
Durham, NC

Fri 7/28/17 at 10:30am-11am
Fri 8/4/17 at 10:30am-11am
Fri 8/11/17 at 10:30am-11am
Fri 8/18/17 at 10:30am-11am
Fri 8/25/17 at 10:30am-11am
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Dirty Birds Press presents a reading from the urban fantasy anthology Undercities
Join Dirty Birds Press at Flyleaf Books on July 29 for an exclusive reading of selections from their urban fantasy anthology Undercities. Authors Magdalena Clark and Laura J. Moody will be reading and discussing selections from their short stories. Dirty B...
Flyleaf Books
Chapel Hill, NC

Sat 7/29/17 at 3pm-4pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books), Signing/Readings
Jacqueline Ogburn - 'The Unicorn in the Barn'
Local author Jacqueline K. Ogburn visits with her debut middle grade novel. The Unicorn in the Barn is the sweet tale of a young boy who discovers magic, friendship, loss, and love when he encounters a unicorn being cared for by a local vet. For ages 10+. ...
Quail Ridge Books & Music
Raleigh, NC

Sat 7/29/17 at 2pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books)
Saturday Storytime
Join us every Saturday for a story followed by an activity.
Barnes & Noble at Southpoint
Durham, NC

Sat 7/29/17 at 11am-11:30am
Sat 8/5/17 at 11am-11:30am
Sat 8/12/17 at 11am-11:30am
Sat 8/19/17 at 11am-11:30am
Sat 8/26/17 at 11am-11:30am
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Meet Mitch Prinstein: Popular
A leading psychologist examines how our popularity affects our success, our relationships, and our happiness--and why we don't always want to be the most popular. Popular examines why popularity plays such a key role in our development and, ultimately, how...
Barnes & Noble at Southpoint
Durham, NC

Sun 7/30/17 at 2pm-3:30pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings, Talks/Lectures
Billy Lawrence - 'The Punk and the Professor'
Take a trip back to the mean, hard streets of 1980s NYC in Billy Lawrence's new novel, The Punk and the Professor, and join us when Lawrence shares this debut paperback novel of survival and perseverance. Lawrence is a writing teacher at NC State, and dire...
Quail Ridge Books & Music
Raleigh, NC

Mon 7/31/17 at 7pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Meeting
Cary Club Toastmasters weekly meeting
Week by week, Cary Toastmasters will help you reach your public speaking goals in a warm, friendly environment with plenty of good natured fun. Get your feet wet by volunteering for a starter role such as Word of the Day, Grammar Tip, Humorist or Timekeepe...
Wake Tech Community College – Western Wake Campus
Cary, NC

Mon 7/31/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/7/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/14/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/21/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/28/17 at 8am-9am
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Cary Toastmasters
Week by week, Cary Toastmasters will help you reach your public speaking goals in a warm, friendly environment with plenty of good natured fun. Get your feet wet by volunteering for a starter role such as Word of the Day, Grammar Tip, Humorist or Timekeepe...
Wake Tech Community College – Western Wake Campus
Cary, NC

Mon 7/31/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/7/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/14/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/21/17 at 8am-9am
Mon 8/28/17 at 8am-9am
    

Where To Do It!
Filter by City or Town: